The gloom and doom of a rainy, snowy, cold week can really get to a person, but that’s why you have me here to find the good for you!  And I have it in spades this week!

First off, a little local info.  The Oakland Manor and the Buck Snort are teaming up again to have a drive-thru coffee and donut run this Thursday.  How awesome is that?  I’m a huge fan of a drive-through, especially when you have kids!  Getting my kid in and out of her car seat is not a task you want to start off with in the morning!  And even better, all the proceeds go to the Riverside principal’s cabinet.  What a great cause and what great businesses that are willing to help out like that!  And if you didn’t go the last time, let me tell you that the donuts are FAB-U-LOUS!  I had a sweet apple turnover.  It was the highlight of my day!

Secondly, listen to this:  the Riverside FFA boys are doing a harvest meal for all the local farmers!  You can order your meal on Saturday, October 20th to be delivered to the field!  (Assuming it isn’t a giant lake by then.)  What a great program and what a great nod to agriculture for Future Farmers of America!  I feel like that is definitely some good in the world.

Third, El Sol is celebrating their 1-year anniversary of being in Oakland on Tuesday!  I’m so happy for them!  What a great thing that we continue to have new businesses come to Oakland and succeed!  They are even having specials for all you Mexican-food lovers!

Fourth, if you haven’t been watching The Voice and you like to see good in the world, start tuning in.  I can’t say enough how good it feels to watch people’s dreams come true, to hear stories of perseverance, to see people succeed at their lifelong passions, and to see people overcome.  I truly believe their stories give everyone’s stories hope.

Fifth, as I, and many others, continue to prep the Trunk or Treat event in Oakland, I am again reminded of how great and willing people are to help and make something special.  I’ve reached out to a lot of businesses and people and so many of them are coming through.  Hopefully, it’s a win-win for all of us, but there’s nothing like small town pride.  Be sure to put the event on your calendar:  October 28!

So it’s mid-October, Christmas is coming.  The snow is already here.  There’s been a lot of rain.  Everything is behind schedule and the days are getting shorter, but here we are with 5 things to make our week a little better and a little brighter.  Never doubt that there’s good waiting for you. Sometimes, you just have to look a little harder than others.

And remember that if you can’t find it – make it.  Do right. Do good. Do yours.

Happy Week! Happy Life!

***

Got some more good to add?  Let’s hear it!