the calendar says it's spring

the calendar says it’s spring

So it’s that time of year where the winter doldrums haven’t quite faded even though it’s supposed to be spring. (You hear that, weather gods!!!  S-P-R-I-N-G.  SPRING!  Bring it!)  Here we are in the thick of being tired of winter and in dire need of a vacation (or at the very least a little grilling to avoid a few extra dishes).

I will be the first to admit that I sometimes struggle with depression, especially when I’m past ready for umbrella drinks in the sun!  I always hate this time of year because inevitably this is the time of year where everyone is officially sick of everyone else.  I swear it’s Lord of the Flies out there right now.  It’s every man for himself.  It’s that time of year where we go after other people in our state of anger instead of dealing with our own shit or just being silently jealous.  We roll our eyes at the mother who’s 4 children are stealing candy at Walmart.  We bite someone’s head off if they offer us chocolate because why did they not realize we were on a diet?  We hate on our co-worker because she got roses.  Um, yeah.

This is the time of year where others are rocking back and forth in catatonic states with their childhood teddy bear.  For me, this is the time I start to lay low or remind myself that at least my husband loves me.  I truly think this is a really tough time of year.  I hate when people turn on one another.  And believe me, I know I am guilty of the same.  I catch myself doing it and shame myself into trying to correct the problem.  As they say in AA, the first step is realizing you have a problem.  And when I do, I start fixing my mess.  Here’s how I do it:

*Amazingly enough, I don’t recommend excessive drinking, just so you know.  I do recommend yelling at the TV and cursing your Ohio State-ruined brackets instead.  Better the TV than some person who can hold it against you forever.

*Go outside.  Even if you have to grill in your parka or walk in your Carhaarts.  You gotta do what you gotta do.  There’s vitamins in that there sun even if it’s 30 degrees.

*Make vacation plans or fun-outing dates.  You need something to look forward to.  A baseball game in May, hotel reservations for your cousin’s wedding in June, a girls’ weekend to go shopping at the outlets, or a roadtrip to fish in Minnesota.  Just put something on the calendar that doesn’t involve work or your kids’ practice schedule.

*Check out some new music – fun, let’s-get-to-summer music.  I suggest Rum by the Brothers Osborne.  It’s a good place to start.

*Then, start making the world around you happier.  Make chocolate chip cookies with your kids.  Send a care package to your best friend.  Take flowers to your elderly neighbor.  Go to church with your mother.  I know I say this all the time, but the best way to feel better about yourself is to change someone else’s day.  Nothing makes me feel better when I’m hating the world than the world smiling back at me because I gave ‘em a donut.

 

Listen, I know how easy it is to bitch when the cards are stacked against you, and I’m not saying you shouldn’t bitch.  I’m just saying to be selective with whom you bitch to, and I’m saying that it’s better to be thankful than miserable.  There was a time in my life when I had a hard time remembering that, and I don’t ever want that for me or you again.

So when you get done lamenting, pick up your sad sack of a self and put some goodness (in the form of Reese’s peanut butter cups, Dairy Queen blizzards, Redd’s Ale, or your best crocheted doily) out into the world.

You’ll never regret it.

I never do…

