greeting card guilt

greeting card guilt

Have you ever had that epiphany where you realized you’re not as good as you used to be?  I find it happening to me a lot lately.  There’s lots of things:  golfing, swimming, sending greeting cards, taking care of people…  The list is so long I’m starting to wonder what the Hell I CAN still do well.. Well, besides post on Twitter and Facebook.  Ug.  How embarrassing is that?  Oh, sorry, I didn’t mail you a card or take you up on that round of golf, but no worries, I managed to read everyone’s posts on Facebook this week.  Woo-hoo!  Congratulations, me!

Okay, so if someone was drowning, the swimming would come back to me.  And in the real world as a non-businesswoman, I probably really don’t need to know how to golf that badly.  If anybody asks me to go, they probably really only want me to go for drinking purposes or to suck worse than they do anyway, so oh well.  But the greeting cards issue is where I feel kinda crappy, when did I quit making an effort to get cards sent for special occasions?  Sure, the internet makes it easier to send those well-wishes, but it seems like a lazy man’s way.  Then again, it’s cheaper.  It’s faster, and it doesn’t involve the postal system, so really it’s probably just the smart man’s way, but I still feel guilty.  I used to make that extra effort.  You know what I mean?

I’m sure some people would say that they’ve just gotten too busy for it (and they probably have with kids, longer work hours, etc), but what’s my excuse?  I got married?  Well, okay, he does take up a lot of my time. Lol. I guess it could be because I’m trying to have that whole second career as a writer and photographer thing?  Oh, yeah, maybe.  Is it that I’m just out of practice?  Or honestly, is it just a pure laziness and failure on my part to get the job done?  I’m leaning towards that.  So do I beat myself up for it or do I let it go?  Do you ever have that argument with yourself?  I seem to have it a lot.

cooler

I’d like to say I’m going to rectify the situation ASAP.  Unfortunately, I know myself well enough to know that I’m going to continue to be a sloth because it’s just easier to send a quick email or text.  Should I be giving up Facebook for Lent?  Probably.  Will I?  No (but I’m not Catholic so I get a “get out of jail free” card on that, right?).  Will you be heart-broken I didn’t get the Hallmark sent to ya?  I sure hope not.  I hate disappointing people, but if your dog dies or your mother-in-law comes to stay with you for 2 weeks, I promise to still make the effort to bring you alcoholic beverages.  And that’s the best advice I can give you:  you can’t always go back, but you can at least decide the minimum you can live with and go with it.

So my card stash is bound to get dusty, but the cooler is full and ready.  Let me know when you need it.

***

Anything you’ve quit doing lately?  Anything you struggle to get accomplished that gives you guilt?  Or is there anything you’re proud of not giving up on?  I wanna hear it.  Put it in the comments.

