photo 1

Have you seen all those comics about how the turkey tells Santa to wait his turn?   I didn’t realize how true that was until my hubs decided we needed a Thanksgiving door decoration.  Let me guess:  you have the cutest thing ever on your door?  Yeah, why don’t you just come make mine then?

Now, I love Pinterest as much as the next person, but I’m not exactly a crafty sort (well, in that sense of the word). I’m also not a fan of leaves on a wreath with berries and pumpkins which limited my options.  No offense to those who like them, but I’m not so much of a herbivore-door-hanging-kind-of-girl.  Just sayin’.  So we went in search of Tom Turkey door décor only to find there was none out there!

That was devastating, because if you’ve been tuning in for the last month or so, you know 2 things:

one – my husband bought the dorkiest Halloween witch decoration that he named Hazel and talked to her every night.

photo 3

And two – I am right in the thick of The 2nd Annual Blessed Turkey Project which means I’m in full-fledged Thanksgiving mode right about now.  So when the hubs turned up no dorky décor in honor of the Pilgrims’ feast, I felt saddened for my boy.  Who’s he going to torture me with if there’s no Tom to sport on our door?

Well, I did what any good wife would do.  I manned up, broke out the felt and wallpaper samples and made my husband the ugliest, cheesiest turkey out there.  In fact, Tom may be a little metrosexual if you ask me.  He’s got the floral print going and a little pink on the side, too, but he reeks of friendliness!  Just the way my husband would want him!  I’m thinking about adding Tom and Hazel to our Christmas photo.  After all, they are members of the family along with the deer in our backyard that last night didn’t even get up when I went to start the grill 8 feet from their nesting spot.

Yes, we are that family.

But here’s the thing:  we’re never dull.  And we’re grateful for even the most ridiculous of things which is why during the month of November we are all about The 2nd Annual Blessed Turkey Project.  And we’d love to have you join in if you haven’t already.

Here’s to laughter, thanks-giving, and Tom the turkey welcoming you at the door.  Now go make your own or show me what’s hanging on your door!

