thanks to http://howtonestforless.com for this one

thanks to http://howtonestforless.com for this one

So have you seen that fall bucket list going around on Facebook?  It cracks me up.  Now, I don’t mean to be rude to the person who made it, but if I’m going to make a “bucket list” it’s gonna be a little more impressive than picking some apples!  I think “bucket list” and I think “Hello, Retirement!”  Bring on the girls’ trips to Vegas and the 20-something, tan cabana boy to get me a fresh, liter-sized strawberry daiquiri!  I do not think “watch a scary movie.”  Um… Hell no!

I think it should be labeled more of a “fun to-do list for fall” not a bucket list.  And, yes, I’m arguing semantics here, which as an English major is expected, just not usually from this one, but bucket list screams fun to me, not an average weekend of pumpkin-picking.  According to my friend, the only thing you could do to liven up that list is add the “with a sexy hunk” phrase at the end – like pick apples with a sexy hunk or go on a picnic with a sexy hunk or rake a pile of leaves and jump in it with a sexy hunk.  See, that improves the list, but I’m still not on board.

In fact, of the entire list, the only one that sounds remotely interesting to me is heading to a haunted house.  For some reason, I adore them!  But as for the others, whatever.  I guess I’ve never been a huge fan of fall so that might explain my complacency about it.  I think I’ve spent my entire life mourning summer being over and resenting autumn for even existing!  Sorry, fall, you’re my arch nemesis!  You’re the Wil Wheaton to my Sheldon.  But being the ever-trying-to-improve type (lol), I am willing to try to embrace my version of “fall fun.”  Again, it’s a to-do list.  NOT, I repeat NOT a bucket list.  Here’s what made my list:

Fall To-Do List: 

1. Skip work and wait for the Great Pumpkin to arrive!

2. Change the tank-tops to ¾-sleeves in closet.

(And I, personally, will break out all the cool fall shoes I bought at the outlet mall excursions.  Shhh… don’t tell the husband!)

3. Taunt others in your fantasy football league.  (Why else does one join?)

4. Put a dorky-looking, kid-friendly decoration on your door.

(Then you can be just like me!  I swear ours is right out of the Holly Hobby  Halloween collection! Thanks, hubby, for having the taste of a 5 year old.)

witch

5. Buy too much Halloween candy (including Reese Peanut Butter Cups and Almond Snickers – um, yum!) and accidentally eat some (okay, a lot) of it yourself!

6. Bitch about Daylight Savings Time

(Why?  Because as an American, you really need to vent about the piddly-ass stuff so that you don’t freak out about the big stuff.)

7. Girls, here’s one for you:  No shorts means you don’t have to shave your legs every day!  (Hallelujah!)

8. And, of course, panic about Christmas!

Okay, got some good ones to add?  Bring ‘em on!  Have an opinion about my choices?  Okay, let’s hear it.  Think you know somebody who needs clued in on this list?  Share it!

Oh, and Happy Fall, Y’all!

