DSC_0827

I hate to say it, but my summer is gone.  No more can I lounge outside at 1:30 in the afternoon and eat meals when I feel like it.  My world has been rocked back into submission.  However, unlike most summers as of late, I kinda feel like I had a real summer.  “Real” meaning I took trips elsewhere, and I have plenty of stories for the Christmas letter.  Now that is the mark of a good summer.

If you think about it, can you quickly tell me 5 things you did this summer?  I can.  I can tell you a lot more than 5, even though my memory is sketchy at best now that I am back on the work schedule.  I judged things.  I went to Minnesota twice.  I have the pleasure of saying I’ve been to Shell Knob, Missouri (Yeah, how would you like to have to say you were from Shell Knob and listen to all those giggles every time?).  I boated.  I made RAGCRAI – my Regular Annual Great Car Ride Across Iowa to see my college bffs in Galena, IL.  I found my new fave TV show, Camp.  I played a bajillion games of Scramble with Friends.  And I didn’t feel bad about it!

Sometimes, I think I forget that summer is supposed to be fun.  I’m so busy getting the to-do list done that I can’t complete during the school year and trying to write books that I will probably never sell, that sometimes I don’t enjoy life.  I’ve had enough of that.  It was an epiphany this summer that maybe I am more a blogger than a full-fledged author so here I am devoted to you and devoted to summers off! lol.

As my summer comes to a close, so does my tan, my ability to go to the post office when it’s open, and pissing when I actually need to, but at least this year, I can say I did some cool crap with lots of funny moments and lots of wonderful people.  OMG! – I actually went on a vacation with my husband for the first time in 10 YEARS!  And if that wasn’t enough, I saw a dog riding in the sunroof of a crappy car with aviator goggles on,I rode on a trolley, and I took a picture of King Kong’s butt.  These are exciting times, people!

So now that I’ve blathered on about my summer, what was your highlight of summer?  I’m waiting impatiently ready to hear!

