photo (72)

Have you ever noticed the difference between Mother’s Day and Father’s Day?  It’s kinda funny actually.

On Mother’s Day, they sell a million flowers and plants.  Do you see flowers on sale for this weekend???  Yeah, I thought not.  Am I to assume the tie for dads is the equivalent to flowers?  Oddly, I think that’s possible.

It also seems that they sell a lot of jewelry for moms.  Yeah, not a lot of rings and chains being sold this weekend either.  Okay, maybe an occasional watch, but still, it’s not about the bling for your father.  You don’t exactly put those two things together in most cases.

Another thing I’ve noticed is that most people take their mom out for dinner – usually “fancy” Italian like Olive Garden or Caraba’s. lol.  Poor dad.  He doesn’t get to go anywhere.  Dads get grilling instead.  But what man doesn’t like a big slab of meat?  (I know.  That’s what she said.)

Truly, I think my favorite part about Father’s Day is that fathers are easy to please.  I know people always complain about shopping for dads.  Hence, the proverbial tie, and I know that dads are way more expensive to shop for.  You don’t find a lot of power tools under $75.  Dads always want the big buck items – guns, computers, cell phones, lawn mowers, and grills.  And they would prefer not to get clothes unless they’re desperate for something to wear and it means they don’t have to go to the store to pick something out or go shopping with you because they can only stand around Sears and Best Buy for so long. Lol.

But at the end of the day, break out the ties wrapped in a Target bag, some golf balls even Tiger would be jealous of, a bag of Fruit-of-the-Loom socks from Wally World, or tickets to a baseball game.  The fact of the matter is that no matter what we get, if we add a 6-pack of his favorite beer (or a new beer to try if it’s one of those adventurous types – lol) he will be supremely happy.  It will be the best gift ever!  Magically, beer makes everything better!  (at least to dads, I’ll still with butter or bacon) 🙂

And that is why we have to love our fathers!

Happy Father’s Day, everybody!

(Especially to my dad who will be drinkin’ beers and eating beef this weekend!)

 

P.S. – What are you getting your dad?  You know I’m snoopy and like to know.  And if you don’t have any ideas, don’t forget that shopping is my forte.  I’m here to help, just let me know.

