photo (69)

What are your go-to clothes?  You know what I’m talking about.  What’s been with you longer than your spouse or your toaster?

I realized the other day that for as much as I love shopping and new clothes, there are some old things I just can’t get rid of.  Now, I know some of you ladies are doing an exasperated “arg” about some jersey or t-shirt your significant other still wears that you would like to burn in effigy, but they have probably kept it because it reminds them of the man they used to be – the high school jock, the college frat boy, or the single, unwhipped playa. Lol.   You gotta give them that.  (P.S. – if you really hate it, offer to make a t-shirt quilt out of it.  It can live on forever on his body, but not out of the house! Ha ha.)  Besides, you probably have some pair of jeans stuck in the back of your closet that fit before the baby or when you got out of college.  See, I know you.

We all hold on to things for sentimental reasons, but what about the stuff we just like?

Call us creatures of habit that order the same thing when walk in the door of Pizza Hut, or maybe we just like what we like!

I know you have something that you wear all the time that you pick up first.  Don’t even try to tell me you don’t.  Maybe it’s a pair of pajama pants, a dress that never makes you look fat, a coat you’ve moved into 7 different houses, or a pair of shoes that just “fit” right.  Sometimes, I don’t even think we realize it.  We just have blind loyalty. Lol.

Exhibit A.

photo (67)

My husband has a Harley t-shirt he acquired long before he acquired me.  It is thread-bare.  I swear to you I can see the color of his chest hair through it, but does it have a single hole in it?  Hell no!  Have I hid it at the bottom of a basket assuming that since he claims there’s no ketchup in the refrigerator if it’s on the wrong shelf, he wouldn’t possibly dig for the shirt?  Yes.  Did it work?  No.  He has radar for it!

Exhibit B.

photo (68)

Take me.  I always like to have a new outfit to wear to work or to a function, but put me in my house and I want my old standbys.  I have a pair of pj pants I bought when my friend moved to Minnesota 15 years ago.  I will dig to the bottom of the pile to find them.  There’s no sentimental attachment.  They just feel right.

Exhibit C. 

When I was in college, I worked at a K-12 school.  As long as I live, I will never forget Joe.  Joe was a senior that came to school every single day the entire year in camo shorts, an ugly forest green t-shirt and brown flip-flops.  Every.  Single.  Day.  Even in a blizzard!  And I am pretty positive it didn’t help him get any phone numbers!  Apparently, we just go with what is comfortable to us.

 

Exhibit D.

photo (70)

As much as you will all laugh at me, I have a collection of double extra large men’s t-shirts with holes in the armpits.  Now, I did not set out for this to be the case.  Over the years, I have always loved to wear a big t-shirt around the house for lounging.  Why do they all end up with holes in the armpits instead of elsewhere?  I have no idea.  The only thing I do know is that my husband hates them.  He calls them the “holy” tees, and he’s right.  They’re sacred.  He keeps asking me to replace them, and I keep promptly ignoring him.

Exhibit E.  (see picture at top of page)

So maybe I’m the only grown adult that’s read The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, but I love that book, and I have my own pair of pants.  No lie.  In writing this, I realized I’ve had these jeans since I started working full-time (which was a LONG time ago).  They fit me no matter what I weigh.  They are my fat, skinny, or not-horribly-overweight jeans.  They always fit, and I am sad to say they are disintegrating before my very eyes.  Unfortunately, they are also my “farm” jeans.  They are the first thing I put on if I’m headed to see my parents or going to get muddy.  (Notice I didn’t say dirty, you pervs.)  What jeans will I now turn to in a crisis?  I have no idea!  Will I mourn them or refuse to burn them?  Probably.

Okay, so I’ve blabbed about all my loves.  What are yours?  Do you have a “lucky” pair of underwear you can’t part with?  Do you have slippers that came with the house?  Or do you have a suit you wear for every majorly important function at work because it makes you feel confident?  Would people be surprised to know you have hundreds of things in your closet because you only wear 8 of them?  Yeah, I get it.

So… let’s hear it!  What’s your diehard piece?  Or if you don’t want to say, tattle on a friend.  What item of clothing will they have to be buried with?  Fill me in!  You know I’m nosy.  Oh, and if you wanna know what your friends would say, feel free to share this. 🙂

