DSC_0043

As I heard more than one writer remark, it’s hard to post after tragedies:  I realized nothing seemed appropriate to post after a week of Boston, West, Texas, and crime scenes in front of my school, but you know what?  I’d rather laugh than cry.  It may be difficult, but here we are…  And who will boldly go there when no one else will?  Me.  Yes, I’m that dumbass.

There’s an Emile Zola quote, “If you ask me what I came into this world to do, I will tell you:  I came to live out loud.”  Maybe that’s the problem.  Maybe all of us good people aren’t living out loud.

See, here’s the thing:  we hear all this media about the riff-raff-trashy-ass-piece-of-shit people in the world, but what about the rest of us?  I look through the names on my Facebook list and most of you are pretty kick-ass-fabulous people.  Possibly it’s because many of you grew up in small Midwestern towns where your parents raised you right or possibly there are a lot of freaking good people that just don’t get the press.

I mean, you don’t hear a lot of rap songs about

“She be readin’ them Facebook posts. 

Drinking her coffee and eatin’ on toast.

Checkin’ on her list of DVR’d shows

and makin’ me some taters an’ roast!” 

Perhaps it doesn’t have the same approach as

“I be slappin’ her silly and

she still chasin’ my willy

so I put a cap in her ass

and she be changin’ up real fast.” 

But guess what?  I’d rather live next door to coffee girl…and I do.  (I hope!)

I’m guessing that pretty much all of my readers are surrounded by some pretty wonderful people – people who go to work every day, take out their garbage, coach little league, take flowers to their grandmas, open doors for the person after them, share their cookies at lunch, and pay their taxes (however whore-house-high they are).  I’ll be the first to say that things aren’t the way they used to be, but there are still a shitload of people who listen to country music for the sentiment, arrive promptly to church every Sunday, and invite the neighbors over for a barbecue (or at the very least only scream at their family when they step on a Lego for the 95th time.  Lol).

So maybe it’s time for all of us to Live out Loud.  Maybe it’s time for us to start putting it out there – all the good things we see other people do, all the paying-it-forward moments we have, and the Proud-to-be-an-American Lee Greenwood feelings.  Good people do things quietly.  Bad people do bad things to make people notice.  I’m ready to make people notice good people.  My biggest belief is that the best way to combat bad situations is by doing good.  Good for the people around you.  Good for people you don’t know.  Good for your heart.

You’ll be hearing from me later this week.  For all of you who liked The Blessed Turkey Project and the Love-Fest, I’ve got a Facebook party for you and we’re gonna rock the Good People of the World Brownie Award!  Until then, put up your flags, say a prayer, dance in your kitchen, take the kids to the park, and live out loud.

