I’m a turkey.  He’s a turkey.  Wouldn’t ya like to be a turkey, too?  (Are you singing it like the Dr. Pepper commercial?  Or was that only in my head?)  Okay, so I up and decided to start a “thing” in honor of Thanksgiving.  (Okay, so maybe I ripped off a similar idea, but it was a good one.)
It started because last week I was the lucky person in the wrong place at the wrong time.  I was absolutely scared out of my mind only to realize hours later how easy my life is compared to so many others.  In fact, I’m one blessed bitch!  But seeing as how it’s Thanksgiving and all, it didn’t seem right to go with the Blessed Bitch Project – it sounded a little too much like the Blair Witch Project which just makes me dizzy.  So… anyway, it occurred to me that one of my favorite old-skool slang phrases from The Facts of Life was “Hey Turkey!”  For some reason, it just seems a little more polite than the 2012 version of “Hey Asshole!”  And, well, there’s that whole Thanksgiving turkey thing, too.  So I went with it.  I started the Blessed Turkey Project.
Now, I’m not telling you all of this to brag.  I’m telling you because I think you should be a turkey, too!  If you’re as lucky as I am, I think you should shout it from the rooftops or at least from your little posting site on facebook! lol.  Everyday between now and Thanksgiving, make your status about something, someone, or a situation you’re thankful for or blessed to have.  Be serious or be funny.  It can be a note or a picture or a graphic or whatever else your brilliant mind comes up with, but I think you should do it.  (And by “it,” I mean the project.  You can do “it,” too, but just not on my watch please.)  Tell the world why it rocks to be you!  (I know it may not always, but it’s better than scooping dogshit outta Hong Kong, right?)
Sounds pretty easy, doesn’t it?  I’m pretty sure you can handle it.  Plus, if you want me to go all Oprah Winfrey on you I could tell you that by finding gratitude for what’s good in your life, you will be happier and have a better attitude.  (I’m still waiting on that attitude adjustment, but whatever.) The bottom line is that so many of us forget how lucky we are to have a house, a job, food to eat, and family.  Now that’s not to say we haven’t worked for it, it’s just to say that we have it, and it’s not something to be taken for granted.  But enough of my preaching.
I’m a lucky turkey.  Blessed actually.  And I’m gonna celebrate it with my feathers in the air:  loud and proud!  Wanna be part of my rowdy gang?  Then come party with the rest of the rafter!  Click here to join up:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bolton-Carleys-Bottom-Line-E-vice-and-other-Important-Stuff/201509276570936?ref=br_tf
