So, I’m all for the rest of you having your pumpkin spiced whatevers, your warm cuddly college football parties, and your endless hours of watching leaves fall.  Go at it!  But when it comes to autumn, there’s really only one thing that makes a summer girl like me happy:  new fall TV shows.

Yes, I said it.  Yes, I’m that person turning fatter and dumber by the day because I am an obsessive TV watcher.  Here’s the thing.  I’ve been seeing all your Facebook posts and tweets.  You’re right there with me!  We all have our addictions.  For some, it’s Downtown Abbey and for others, it’s NCIS or NFL Countdown. (count us in for either of the latter!)  And that’s okay.  We are who we are!

So what are you watching?  Of the new shows, I will admit I’ve only added one to my line-up.  (The list was already pretty heavy.  Thought I better not add to it, or my husband would never get supper again and I’d be out of sick days at work in no time at all!)  What was my flavor de mois?  The Mindy Project.  Seemed funny and had that Ally McBeal quality.  Although I’m no longer single, you can’t beat single girl humor.  So far, it’s pretty good.  However, my father informed me that I am off the deep end if I do not start watching Vegas.  Good to know, Dad, good to know.  So what am I not watching that I should be watching?  Well, if my dad can tell me what I’m doing wrong, feel free to jump on the bandwagon.

Just realize that it’s not that I’m opposed to all the new shows, but to quote my husband’s comedic routine, “I just ain’t got time!”  Am I the only loser with this problem?  You can’t tell me I’m the only one who has to have her Big Bang fix, her Tim Gunn make-it-work moments, and her musical hour of Glee, right?  Okay, so your list might be more like CSI Miami and Parks and Rec, but you know what I’m talkin’ about.  And please tell me that I’m not the only one who is sitting on the edge of her seat awaiting the day in the last season of How I Met your Mother that they will show me who the Hell was under that damn yellow umbrella!  Plus, there’s that whole thing about wanting to see if the broke girls will get their cupcake money and if Fi and Michael Weston will recover after his brother’s death.  Oh, the sagas.

But Houston, we have a problem.  It’s called DVR maintenance!  Our DVR is dangerously close to capacity.  Anybody else having this problem?  I hear rumor that most people kick off their children’s shows like the 45 episodes of Scooby Doo and Phineas and Ferb, but the “child” in my house has a holy hissy fit if I ditch Cajun Pawn Stars or the 30 old episodes of Two and a Half Men that he has memorized by title.  For the love of all things cinematic, we have to figure out a way to manage our DVR situation.  98% leaves us in a panic far more concerning to us than tornado season.  (And no, I’m not kidding.  Tornadoes?  Where?  Let me know when it gets here so I can take a picture.  DVR’s at 98%?  Oh no, what are you deleting???)

Thank goodness for cable shows that replay episodes a couple of hours later or there would be blood-shed in our house.  We’ve pondered jousting for DVR control or pillow fights of WWE-like moves, but ended up wii bowling for it instead.  I just wonder how other people handle these serious matters when they have more people in the house.  Oh, the drama that must be incurred.  So what do you do?  Is it water pistols at sundown?  Is it under the table bribery of your children so you can DVR Honey Boo-Boo?  Or does it mean, God forbid, you have to watch it live with commercials so you can watch your show?  I just gotta know.  Bring it on.

