Are you ready for some football?  More importantly, are you ready for some bacon?  I know, weird transition, huh?  But why not enjoy the first weekend of football celebrating International Bacon Day?  I mean, everything’s better with bacon!

So you’re kicking off your college game day with some heavy tailgating, hog roasts, and campfires, but what do you need to make it perfect?  That piece de résistance?  Bacon!  Nothing goes better with beer than bacon…well, maybe flirting and beer, but bacon’s a close second!  You can make it easy on yourself and get the new bacon and cheddar Ruffles potato chips or you can simply make your burgers bacon cheeseburger sliders…um, yum…  If you’re really wanting to take it up a notch, you can make those cheesy bacon-wrapped wieners in a blanket.  (You know I’m dying to make a comment here.  Insert your own.)

My personal feeling is that we can ditch those wine tastings and move on to bacon tastings.  I’m positive it will catch on.  Ode de bacon would get the boys running, too if you ask me.  And don’t forget to show ‘em how you can bring home the bacon and fry it up in a pan for breakfast tomorrow morning.  Just sayin’. ..

Honestly, I don’t think there are many things that could bring people together like bacon.  You catch that whiff and you are huntin’ bacon.  It could be a mob scene.  Forget the Huskers, bring on the bacon!

My colleague at work is the Bubba Gump of bacon.  He makes bacon cookies and chocolate-covered bacon.  Now, I think he’s rubbing off on me.  I have become passionate about bacon.  I love bacon and eggs, bacon on my burgers, bacon sautéed in my green beans, and there’s something about dipping my bacon in syrup when I order French toast and bacon that makes my mouth water.  (Yes, it’s terrible for me but so is drinking, not sleeping, and dealing with stressful family situations.  What’s your point?) Don’t even get me started about bacon crumbs baked onto the top of homemade macaroni and cheese.  Yum.  Hell, I especially love bakin’ in the sun and Kevin Bacon had me at Footloose.  There’s not a bacon I don’t like.

What’s my point?  Well, my point is that it’s Labor Day weekend, you’ve got sports to watch, and bacon to celebrate.  Put it with your burgers and beverages or use it to eat off the hangover in the morning.  Do what you gotta do, but you might wanna start makin’ bacon ASAP!  Happy 3 weekend!

