Do you ever reach the point where you’re so overwhelmed that you look around your desk, the room, or your office and think “holy shit, there’s no way in hell I am ever going to get this back on track!”?  Yes, that’s where I stand.  I know they spread all that crap about you have to start somewhere and if you just pick one thing and get started on it, it will all get done.  Well, damn it!  They obviously haven’t seen my list or yours!  (I kinda have to figure that you have a list, too, and that’s the exact reason why you’re reading me – to avoid doing the list!)

Do you just get all jittery thinking about it, but not actually leap into action?  Yeah, it happens to me, too.  Do you end up sitting there berating yourself for not getting to the list only to be interrupted by the devil on your shoulder saying,

“Hey, dumbass, it’s Friday night.  You’re entitled to a life!”

To which that damn angel on the other shoulder says,

“Well, less than brilliant-posterior, if you hadn’t left it till May, maybe you wouldn’t be having this problem!”

Of course, that Satan, he’s always one to argue,

“Well, dumbass, you and I both know that you haven’t exactly been doing nothing for the last couple of months.  If people wouldn’t expect shit from us, all of it would have been done a long time ago.  They just need to back off.  Have a drink.  Have a few.  Have a nap and a movie, too.  I think there’s even some left-over cake in the kitchen.”

And that’s where things get out of control.  How can your angelic side possibly win-out over that???

But if it makes you feel any better, I have a million emails that are unanswered, dishes in the sink, a laundry landfill in my basement, writing deadlines looming, and a bad case of the umbrella drinks.  (Read as:  She starts walking to the refrigerator…)

Guess we know how this story ends…

 

On a side note, thanks to Mel Walsh Jones, (check out her site here:  http://melwalshjones.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/logical-fallacies-the-mac-the-air-and-a-long-hot-day/) I have been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award!

The Liebster is a pay-it-forward kind of award, meaning that once you receive the award, you pass it on to others which I will be doing ASAP

