Let me go on record as saying I love Matt Damon.  I’m not necessarily a love-proclaiming person.  You can ask my husband as he always points out he announced his love long before I did.  So I think it should be dually noted that when I declare my love, admiration, and blubbering non-intelligible awe for Matt it should mean something.

Sure, I’m saying this because he defended teachers, but it’s not like it wasn’t always true.  How can you not love a man that makes your mouth water more than double fudge chocolate cheesecake?  And how can you not love a man that wrote a phenomenal film in Good Will Hunting before he was old enough to rent a car?  And how can you not love a man who works that hard at his job that his movies never stink up the $1 bin at Walmart?  And how can you not love a man who defends his mommy?  See, I dare you to find fault with that!  And if you think you can, I’ll invite him to go all Jason Bourne on your ass.

Teaching is not for the weak-hearted.  It is for the kind-hearted and that is why most teachers do not attempt to defend themselves.  But I will say that very few people go into teaching without the right motives and even less stay in teaching without them.  Every day, teachers teach, parent, counsel, nurse, befriend, nurture, and save.   If you don’t believe me, go to the classrooms, sit your butt in the back, and watch the future be built. 

To say more than that would only get me in trouble, but I will again say, “Matt Damon, you are currently a man among men on a pedestal the likes of which your Oscars shadow in comparison.  You can be a spokesperson for education anytime!”

