Commitment.  You can commit perjury or you can commit a felony (although I wouldn’t recommend it).  You can be committed (which some of you probably should have been a long time ago, but you’re my friends so we won’t hold it against you).  But most importantly, you can choose to be committed to whatever you want (of course, being committed to reading and sharing my blog every week wins you big points, just in case you were unaware). 

Why are we talking commitment?  Well, it’s my anniversary, and no, not my wedding anniversary.  It’s my 1 year anniversary of writing my blog.   It doesn’t sound overly important, but I’ve outlasted some marriages, some cans of tomato soup, possibly your diet or your no smoking resolution, and Charlie Sheen’s likeability.

Again, in the big picture, writing a blog once a week for a year is probably not a huge accomplishment, but let me tell you why it matters.  A couple of years ago, I had just finished writing a book and couldn’t figure out how to get it published.  I was whining to my husband for the 40 bajillionth time when he finally said what I needed to hear.  He told me that if I wanted it bad enough I was going to have to make it a priority.  And he was right (a statement my husband can’t hear enough), I’ve never had anything handed to me on a silver platter, (I’d like to.  I’m not morally opposed to it.  It just doesn’t happen.) but I do understand working for it.  So I started putting my efforts in and snooping around.   Apparently one of the best ways to make a name for yourself is by blogging, hence the beginnings of the BoltonCarley blog.  So here I am putting myself out there every week because as Larry the Cable Guy would say, “that’s how you git ‘er done.”  Of course, the thing about blogging is that you can write as much as you want and say what you’re going to say, but really, Bonnie Raitt said it best, “I can’t make you love me if you don’t.”  However, I’ll power-through because I have made the commitment, and in our hearts, I think we have to believe that if we dedicate our lives to something it will be worth it in the end. 

Why else do you spend 18 years raising your kids while they heckle you, beg for money, and consider you clueless and embarrassing?  Or for that matter, why else would you get married?  I mean I’m sure it’s for the constant argument about whose family you will be visiting for the holidays or why dishes only make it to the floor by the recliner instead of the kitchen sink, right?  And let’s face it, a whole lot of us are more committed to our jobs than we are to flossing our teeth or doing laundry more than once a month.  We all know people that can hardly commit themselves to a coffee order or order a magazine subscription, let alone decide on a tattoo or which shoes to wear with a navy blazer.  I’m just saying that commitment doesn’t work for everybody, so there’s a lot to be said for those of us who stick to our goals.  I know a lot of you have pledged your lives to raising kids, to getting yourselves out of debt, to saving the children in Africa, to watching every NFL game on the ESPN network, or being in church on Sundays.  That’s not to be taken lightly.  That, right there, is success.

Have you had beer with the boys lately?  Have you called your mom?  Have you taken out the trash because there was a faint smell of moldy pineapple?  Have you made an Easter basket for your nieces and nephews?  Did you say thank you to the cashier that told you that you had lipstick on your teeth?  Did you say screw making the bed and spend a few minutes watching cartoons with your kids instead?  Did you give your hubby a big ole kiss when he put his socks in the laundry basket?  These are the real questions you ask yourself, because it’s important that your priorities are where you want them to be. 

I know I’ve figured mine out and I believe simple is better.  My commitment is to my hubs who puts up with me when I’m a raving lunatic, to my parents who gave me life and a moral code, to the rest of our families who matter because they’re our family, to a whole bunch of other things that don’t count but that I can’t  say “no” to, and to my writing.  I will never have the biggest house on the block.  I will probably never be interviewed by Matt Lauer unless it’s about a tornado instead of my writing (although I philosophize that I have too many teeth for that to happen).  And I will probably never reach a million readers, but I will be able to say that I gave it one helluva shot.   So here’s to doing what you have to do or need to do to be who you want to be.  And in the end, I’m pretty sure “Giant Loser” won’t be the label on our headstones (so at least there’s that).  🙂

