It ain’t funny.  It’s the truth.

If I hear one more kid tell me how pretty they are, how great they are at dancing, or how utterly brilliant they are, I think I may have to originate a Bill Engvall-Here’s your Sign-type song entitled, No, you’re Not or You May Think you Are

 I am here to plead the case for modesty, and I’m not just talking in terms of sagging-boxer-butt crack or muffin-top, skank-strapped, low-cut coverage tanks.  No, no.  I beg of the world to encourage without lying.  You can tell a kid to keep up the good work and that practicing soccer will make him better.  That is not lying.  Telling him he’s a great soccer player when he’s 12 years old and still shoots Spiderman webs at the crowd when the ball goes by him is a deceit for both of you.

However, Lee Dewyze gives me hope.  Maybe you quit watching American Idol four season ago, but if you didn’t, and you saw Lee Dewyze sing, Hallelujah, then you understand my point.  He sang a song with heart, with love, with passion, and above all else, humility.  Oh, how I love to be able to say that.  In my heart of hearts, my parents taught me modesty that to this day some people don’t understand.  My own husband tells me that modesty and humility will only get a person disregarded or not thought of at all.  To which I reply, “If you’re really that good at something, the world will figure it out. You need not tell them.” 

 And Lee Dewyze – you did not tell them.  You showed them.  You sang your heart out down to the sigh of relief upon completion.  The sparkle was in your eyes and the near-tears feeling you bestowed on that stage was everything that says “If you’re really that good at something, the world will figure it out.”  Hallelujah!  We got the message.

 Yes, Lee, you did it.  Your insecurity and modest behavior became your glory. 

 An old friend used to say, “There’s a fine line between cocky and confident and you have to walk it.”  Most people struggle with that line.  They are more the examples of Kenny Rodgers, “It’s hard to be humble when you’re perfect in every way.”  All I have to say to that is:  barf.  Double barf.  So, Lee, thanks for being humbly confident. 

 May we all quietly find our way from being the paint store clerk to the superstar at whatever we endeavor… 

 Hallelujah to that!

